DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT: COSTELLO TAGLIAPIETRA


I sometimes daydream of how, one day, I will own the perfect wardrobe. And I don’t even mean in the fantasy sense per say, but in the perfectly-fitting-timeless-classic-staples sense, if you get my drift; that no-fail closet full of flawless garments that not only fit like a glove, but which I enjoy wearing everyday. And when I envision that glorious closet space, I picture it packed full with oodles of goodies from my personal canon: YSLChloéDries Van Noten, and, one of my more recent loves, Costello Tagliapietra

I know that when some plunge into a sartorial fantasy, they might see themselves in a mind-blowing McQueen creation, kicking ass in an outrageous Gaultier gown, or va-vooming it up in Versace, but I tend to revel in quotidian fantasies myself; my idea of clothing nirvana is infusing the everyday with master-crafted creations that don’t try too hard. Costello Tagliapietra will no doubt be a key player in this fantasy. I have to say, too, that the hefty amount of caché the label totes around by, apparently, not being available for purchase virtually anywhere on the Internet, isn’t helping me not crave what I can’t have all the more. Gah.

The label’s collection for this fall consists of what one might expect from uber-talented designers Jeffrey Costello and Robert Tagliapietra—pieces that are at the same time timeless and smart. I love how there always seems to be a focus on movement in CT collections, and pieces from the fall 2011 collection all have a sort of confident swoop about them. Let me tell ya, I want to attain that swoop–whether I’m hoofing it to a power lunch or ordering a latte on Saturday morning…


Serving up expertly tailored pieces since 2005, the dynamic duo (seriously, how cute are these two?) behind the label, who have been living and working together for about ten years, is known for its dedication to impeccable quality. As in… French seam quality. Yup, believe it—I’ve seen the close-ups on eBay. Now, if that doesn’t make a garment worthy of any gal’s fantasy wardrobe, I don’t know what will…

The Costello Tagliapietra collection is sold at Barney’s New York and at various specialty boutiques around the world.

–JEAN CANDIDO
Share

One response to “DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT: COSTELLO TAGLIAPIETRA

  1. puddles of pearls

    love itttt

Leave a Reply

