CRAVIN’ CARVEN

Actually, make that cravin’ Carven like a crazed crack addict. For serious, I think I may have a new favorite label. Ever heard of Carven? Yeah, me either, until recently. And since that day I sat dumbfounded, drooling over designer Guillaume Henry’s spring 2011 RTW collection, I can’t stop thinking about it. No really. I can’t stop thinking about it. I think I may have a problem.


Described as “bourgeois, but with a nasty side” (hear me squealing?), Carven’s spring creations consist of curious yet classic combos and silhouettes offset by bad-ass cutouts, prints, and appliqués. It’s the whole urban chic vibe, but with an air of French refinement that breathes a smoky, “Yes, this is art, and yes, I am 100 percent comfortable wearing it” into your face that hurts so, so good. Again, I think I may have a problem.


And as if it all couldn’t get any better, rumor has it that these pieces are also SEMI-AFFORDABLE. Read: You can buy a beautiful piece that’s NOT an accessory or a legging that’s around 300 bucks. NOT BAD, MES AMIS, NOT BAD AT ALL. Well, comparably speaking. Now, the question that begs to be asked: Do we have to shimmy to the nearest Galleries Lafayette (in France) or hip Parisian boutique to snag one? Hmm, well, that could be arranged. But no. No, thanks to trusty Net-A-Porter, we deprived Americans are able to sneak a slice of the Carven pie, like this Tie-Front Washed Satin Top ($355), among others. There are actually only a couple dozen items available on the site, but hey, it’s better than nothing when you’re fiending for something fabulous.
–JEAN CANDIDO
Share

One response to “CRAVIN’ CARVEN

  1. Pingback: EYE CANDY PIECES COURTESY OF LOEWE | VERY GLOSSY MAGAZINE

Leave a comment