HAUTE COU-TORN: GABILO’S GLASS BEAD OIL COLLAR


Always one to fall easy prey to anything large, glittering, exhaustingly gorgeous (and at times the very least bit practical), this Oil Collar made by Russian designer, GABILO, has me lusting with desire for this breathtaking shoulder piece taken from his A/W 2010-11 Collection. Exquisite, isn’t she? However, as we all know, with great beauty often comes raw and reciprocating pain, and in this case that pain amounts to $1,030 flat, plus shipping.


Needless to say, I’m going to have to take a seat and humbly bow out because the only way this masterful work of art is ending up in my closet is if I take a mental leave of absence to order the dang thing and justify it all with a month’s worth of self-flagellation. But being that I scar easily and am not of the particularly religious variety, I think I’ll opt to sit on my hands instead and wait for Topshop or some like contender to produce a janky, affordable-to-the-masses version instead. (Sadness and Prismacolor-ed tears.)

But hey, if your curiosity’s been sparked, make sure you see GABILO’s A/W 2010-11 and S/S 2011 video look books. They’re pretty weird. I think you’ll like them.


Photos courtesy of Gabilo
–STEPHANIE KAO
Share

One response to “HAUTE COU-TORN: GABILO’S GLASS BEAD OIL COLLAR

  1. damn those vids are rad.

Leave a Reply

