HOLIDAY NAILS: PUTTIN’ ON THE GLITZ!

Those who know me well know that I’m not really one to go for regular manicures, let alone actually taking the time to sit down on my lazy ass and polish my own damn nails for once. However, show me something with a little twinkle and I automatically morph into a spazzed squirrel. I want it. I need it. I have to have it. So, with that said, here are my fave holographic hues for this holiday season–among which the drug store variety were all personally test-driven by yours truly…


First, I’ve noticed that metallics, mainly gold and copper-tones, are huge for winter. Milani‘s Gold Dust ($4.50) goes on rather sheer, but leaves your nails with a gorgeous glow that flatters just about any skin tone. Added bonus: this shade will look equally great layered over an existing shade already in your arsenal (think deep plums, reds, or even taupes and off-white).

Ok, have you SEEN Kate Middleton‘s royal engagement ring (AKA Princess Di’s)? If so (and if not, you’re living under a very non-sparkly rock), it comes as no surprise that I immediately zeroed in on Sally Hansen‘s Thinking of Blue ($7.99). Sapphire shades in all forms are buzzing off the charts, and this is definitely one not to miss. As part of the SH’s Complete Manicure line, trust me when I say, this polish holds true to its name. I only needed one coat and was out the door in five minutes flat! Hint: Finish with Milani’s Gold Dust for a serious oh-la-la factor.

Another homerun for Sally Hansen (also from the Complete Manicure line) is Haute Cocoa ($7.99). This is a smooth, toasty warm red with a hint of plum and a dash of gold shimmer–the perfect color to set off your winter (off) whites or to don during a holiday fete. And again: with one coat, you’re good to go! But if you so feel the need, feel free to throw on a quick-drying top coat (I recommend Creative Nail‘s Speedy Top Coat ($4.45) for extra staying power while you make the familial rounds.


For the indecisive crowd, or for those of us who just like to have it all, Sephora by OPI has created the Rocker Chic Mini Collection ($18), featuring a smashing selection of these aforementioned shades. As reviews on Sephora have mentioned, Already Famous (the pewter-gold polish) would work great for everyday wear, or worn along with Fiercely Fabulous for a little extra pizazz.

Alright, just for good measure, I have to include one polish that simply doesn’t tickle my pickle–maybe because it bears the same color and I do abhor pickles? Either way, Orly‘s Meet Me Under The Mistletoe ($7.50) basically looks like the Toxic Avenger took a festive shit on your nails. It’s not all that flattering against the skin and the amount of sparkle for such an off-beat color, I find a bit tacky… but it’s quite possible this shade would look fabulous on you–to each their own.

Regardless, always remember to keep it classy, not trashy. ♥
–NATALIE OPSITNICK
Share

One response to “HOLIDAY NAILS: PUTTIN’ ON THE GLITZ!

  1. Loved, loved, loved your article! I am not big on manicure’s either; but, your review was VERY helpful! Thanks, Natalie! Milani’s “Gold Dust” is going on my “Christmas Wish List”! 🙂 P.S. Your ending phrase, “Keep it classy, not trashy,” – COOL! GREAT REVIEW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

