CHOO-CHOO! JIMMY GOES FULL STEAM AHEAD WITH UGG


Earlier this year, I had heard from a friend that Jimmy Choo and UGG were going to be collaborating on a line of footwear. At the time, I brushed it off as just another urban shoe myth that would come to fruition, but I was wrong. To be clear: I am not a fan, per say, of Uggs. However, I will admit that I do own a pair… or two. They are just… super comfortable. And I like how they keep my feet warm. But at the same time I kind of just want Uggs to go away. So as you see, I kind of have a love/hate relationship going on here. Once I think they’re finally out, they turn around come back around again… and this time, they’ve backed it up with some Jimmy Choo star-power.

As it turns out this limited edition collection launched just this month, offering five designs based on classic Ugg boots, but this time, with Jimmy Choo studding, stars, grommets, leopard, zebra and hobo fringing details. The boots range in price from $595, all the way up to $795. Hmmm. When I first saw them at Bergdorf Goodman, I found myself questioning whether they were for adults or children. Let’s just say I wasn’t thrilled at the sight of them. Here is what Jimmy Choo’s co-founder, Tamara Mellon has to say for the collaboration:

Other than Jimmy Choo, UGG Australia is really the only other footwear I have in my wardrobe. I wear it at home in New York, on holiday in Malibu and as an essential travel accessory for my plane wardrobe. We are delighted to have created a special capsule that captures the best of both brands – the legendary comfort of UGG with the spirit of Jimmy Choo.

Okay, Tamara, SELL IT!

But really, I’m not entirely sold. I still can’t seem to shake the feeling that these boots were made for children. Am I alone here? Anyone?
Photos courtesy of JimmyChoo.com
–DUYGU DURMUS
Share

Leave a Reply

