ERDEM S/S 2011 RTW: THE STUFF MY DREAMS ARE MADE OF


Erdem Spring 2011 RTW. Where does one really start? I’m almost ashamed it’s taken me this long to bring Erdem Moralioglu to light on VG. This collection, with all of its youthful, celebratory tones, along with its vivacious and resuscitating palette pretty much sums up everything that excites me in fashion. It’s like… a balloon full of pleasure and posies popped and exploded right in front of my face, and then lingered for a while…

First off, I would like to address the wearability factor of these first few dresses. Although some critics were a tad harsh of this playful, fuller, above-the-knee cut (apparently a good many of Erdem’s patrons are 40+), I think it to be absolutely perfect for a range of body types, from petite to tall and from svelte to curvy. I mean, really, how many designer collections are really going to look all that great plucked straight from the runway and fitted on your average Joe? Not that many. But these looks, I could see being easily embraced (more like fought over) by women on the streets of Philadelphia and beyond.

Admittedly, I’ve always been a sucker for florals, french lace, and everything sheer. But having the three mixed up together by a mastermind like Erdem, dicing them up and assembling them into perhaps, their greatest possible form is almost too much to wrap my head around.


Stop right here. Awe-inspiring, aren’t they? These full-length numbers are romance personified, complemented by hair and makeup that couldn’t be any more faithful to the conscience of this collection. IMO.


I know it sounds dramatic, but I may have almost been moved to tears at first sight of it all. This post is simply an expression of gratitude to the artist for his exceptional vision and graceful, wholehearted execution; it’s no Hallmark card but that doesn’t undercut my sincerity any. So thank you, Erdem, for the inspiration and for breathing a bit of extra life and happiness (I hope it’s infectious!) into an otherwise ordinary day.
All photos courtesy of Vogue.com
–STEPHANIE KAO
Share

3 responses to “ERDEM S/S 2011 RTW: THE STUFF MY DREAMS ARE MADE OF

  1. i agree steph!

  2. Pingback: THE NICHOLAS KIRKWOOD FANTASY | VERY GLOSSY MAGAZINE

  3. Pingback: VG EXCLUSIVE: BEHIND-THE-SCENES COVERAGE AT ERDEM S/S 2012 RTW | VERY GLOSSY MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

