DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT: CÉLINE, JE T’AIME


My God, do I love Céline. I first really discovered the iconic French label… where else? Why, studying abroad in France of course. It did sort of re-ring a bell for me at the time, seeing as though I did start buying Vogue at an Arkansas IGA at the age of 12…

So I guess I should say, the first time it really occurred to me to seek out the name was when I spotted the label on another exchange student: the uber-fashionable-and-enviably-pint-sized Japanese chick that sat next to me in writing class. She had a Céline bag. It was then that I knew we, that is, Céline and myself, would have a life-long friendship (imaginary friendship counts, right?). The bag… it was amazing. Clearly. I haven’t forgotten it after almost ten years, for God’s sake…

Fun fact! Michael Kors was Creative Director at Céline in the late 90s, up until 2004. I can definitely see the parallels between what he did at Céline and his MK collections now, but there’s still a sort of… hidden, mysterious quality to Céline pieces that renders them extra-special. A quality that is distinctly, well, Céline. Currently, Phoebe Philo stands at the brand’s helm. She designed the Paddington bag when heading up Chloé, y’all. She’s got it going ON. Oh, and let me tell you, if you didn’t catch a glimpse of her Spring 2010 collection for Céline last year… well. Boy do I feel sorry for you.


When I see a Céline ensemble (much like when I see anything Chloé), I always gasp to myself something along the lines of, “Oh yes, I want to embody what I am seeing.” In my humble opinion, it’s that enviably chic quality + French allure + razor-sharp Brit styling meets American sportswear that gives it a certain… edge. To say the least.

Stay tuned for more (the Spring 2011 collection, that is) come next SundayOctober 3rd at Paris Fashion Week. I have a feeling that with Philo in the kitchen, we’ve got all sorts of treats in store. Just you wait.
–JEAN CANDIDO
Share

Leave a Reply

