SCOTTISH CONNECTION



My love affair with Pringle of Scotland first began in the fall of 2003, while I was studying painting and printmaking in Glasgow, Scotland. My friend Katie and I would put on our best outfits and trudge down Sauchiehall Street to the nice shops in Princes Square and Frasers Department Store, where, upon entering, we would become utterly mesmerized by all that we encountered. We could afford nada. The salespeople never even bothered with us because they knew we weren’t going to buy a thing. And then one fateful day…. Frasers had a sale. This was no ordinary stateside sale. This was a once-in-a-lifetime sale: all Pringle sweaters, £50.00

Needless to say, I still put it on credit. I knew from Pringle’s reputation that anything I bought would be of the highest quality yarn and craftsmanship. I also knew that I didn’t want to buy the iconic Pringle sweater, opting for something a little more casual: a grey-green v-neck ribbed sweater with military-inspired tab roll-up sleeves and two front pockets near the waistline. You won’t see me sporting it unless we’re on the slopes, but it hangs in a prominent place in my closet. One day, I’ll put my Prada shoes (yet to be acquired) right underneath them and all will be right with the world…

It’s no wonder I absolutely adore Pringle’s most recent 195th Anniversary Collection, modeled by Tilda Swinton and Ryan McGinley; their playful take on the traditional Garde has me razz-ma-tazz-dazzled. It brings me right back to my 19-year-old fashionista self, which is definitely alright with me. Here are a few of my favorite pieces… more can be found at Pringle of Scotland’s website.
–LIZ HOFFMANN
Share

Leave a Reply

